Pages

Friday, April 25, 2014

Religion is poison

First of all guys - I'm still doing my blog makeover so bare with me on that. 


You know - my biggest issue with religion (primarily christianity) is the blatant disrespect for other religions/beliefs.  The high and mighty attitude because YOU believe in what I would call an imaginary friend and I don't.  That somehow makes YOU better than me how?  I see this on other friends timelines too.  Some sort of protestant and/or catholic christian is always trying to change our minds or belittle us not believing.  Stop it.  Do you really think there is ANYONE left in the USA that hasn't heard of your religion?  Don't you think we've not made an educated decision?  You're not any smarter than us.  Stop it! 

I was raised with religion in my life.  As a teenager I lived for going to church at least three times a week, writing in the weekly newsletter, drama, choir, youth fellowship ... all of the stuff that kept us busy before social networking.  In college I studied theology and just couldn't get enough of like REAL facts, not shit someone made up to control a population.  My point is this: I am friends with MANY of people with VARIOUS religions.  Hell, even my youth leaders and mentors from church are on my facebook page.  They see my thoughts, views and sometimes irrational rants and guess what!?!?  They have NEVER, not ONE TIME, messaged me up trying to 'save' me or lecture me.  Actually, in fact, both of these ladies treat me better than well, even some of my closest family and friends.  They send me cards at Christmas and you guys KNOW that hardly anyone does that shit anymore.  They tell me they love me.  And they ACTUALLY LIVE what they believe.  I have mad respect for them and have no qualms over their beliefs.  It's theirs and I'd never even want to take that away from them.  But you see, they LIVE what they talk.  They don't just chalk an oopsie up to praying it off.  They walk the walk.  


It also seems so hard to talk openly with most christians.  I mean, I'm pretty sure it mentions not judging in their holy faux leather book of know all right?  Let's see:  


And I'm not going to go through and pull the 20984340802384's occurrences the word "judge" is in the bible BUT you can always go here and start reading for yourselves.


So then why are us as atheists or any other "out of the normal" religion immediately put into a "bad person" category?  Why are we crucified merely because we don't believe the same way you do?  Why am I a bitch if I don't want my door to be knocked on at 9am on a Saturday morning to listen to you talk about your beliefs?  I don't walk up to random people at the gas station on Easter weekend with some pamphlet or magazine trying to bully my way into your personal space while you're stuck pumping gas do I?  I simply want to live the happiest life I possibly can in harmony with other people and nature.  How does that make me a bad person again?  

And I just have to say - I get sooooooooooooo fuuuuuuuuuuuucking siiiiiiiiiick of hearing "LOOK, YOU'RE JUDGING!!  LOOK, YOU'RE SINNING!!!"  I don't know if these people are plain stupid or just dicks but:

WHAT PART OF I DON'T BELIEVE IN YOUR RULES/BELIEFS DIDN'T YOU UNDERSTAND THE FIRST 100 TIMES I SAID IT!?!?  I ... DON'T ... FOLLOW ... THE ... SAME ... SET ... OF ... RULES ... YOU ... DO

It's okay!  My soul is fine.  Please, you must not be a martyr for MY SOUL darling!

I've recently come across the AMAZING Jaclyn Glenn on YouTube.  GO subscribe to her NOW!  She talks about many issues, much more intelligently than I ever could even dream of.  This video says everything I could ever need/want to say about why I believe in well, nothing.  I'm always learning, I'm always questioning, I'm always going to be looking at ways to better understand myself.  My professor in college explained the blatant plagiarism the christian religion proves to have done and that changed my views forever.  I had never, ever heard anyone else ever even mention it - in fact many people have thought I was tooootally making that shit up for all of these years - until I saw this video.  Now, I know most won't watch it because either they don't have 10 minutes to dedicate to sitting and actually learning something OR they're just closed minded and have no desire to even maybe understand where I'm coming from.  But - you should watch it!






No comments: